Pulaski teachers integral to state honors concerts

Tim Kozlovsky directs the Pulaski Community Middle School’s eighth-grade band during a spring concert at the school. (Pulaski Community School District photo)

Two Pulaski Community Middle School teachers are assisting with the Wisconsin School Music Association’s State Honors Music Project. And while they are giving their expertise to talented state high schools musicians, the duo says they, too, get much back in the process. And that, in turn, benefits PCMS students.

They both play important roles, said Victoria Donahue, WSMA State Honors Music Project program manager.

Tim Kozlovsky, middle school band teacher at Pulaski, is the music project’s operations manager for the second straight year and has served in other roles previously.


Packers to present Pulaski with $200K matching grant

Pulaski High School’s homecoming will be even more special this year, thanks to the Green Bay Packers and the National Football League.

Green Bay Packers president/CEO Mark Murphy will be on hand to present a $200,000 Green Bay Packers/NFL Club Matching Grant from the Packers and the NFL for the Red Raiders Field of Dreams project. So far, $1 million of the $2.2 million goal has been raised for Phase II of the project. To find out more, go to:

Also, both Pulaski High School and Green Bay Preble High School participants in Friday night’s homecoming game, which kicks off at 7 p.m. at Saputo Stadium, will participate in the Packers vs. Cancer campaign. Special towels and T-shirts will be available for purchase the week prior to the game at both schools and during the homecoming game.


Oconto Falls Homecoming Court

Aaron Gonnering and Samantha Stickland, front, were named homecoming king and queen during the Oconto Falls High School celebration last weekend. Behind them are the senior court members, second row from left, Dakota Carriveau, Caitlin Johnson, Keeshawn Katers and Breanna Sadowski; third row, Josiah Schoen, Katie Kurth, Connor Peetz, Sammy Shallow, Dylan Nelson and Katelyn Albrecht; fourth row, Hunter Christenson, Kaitlyn St. Louis, Bodee Woods, Emma Huberty, Brody Schindel and Kaelyn Allen; and back row, freshman attendants Simon Pumplin and Samantha Rosselli, junior attendants Alex LeMere and Ashley Britton and sophomore attendants Alec Halvorson and Brett Norling.


Missoula Children’s Theatre presents ‘Princess and the Pea’

What do Glacierdom and Riverdom have in common? The Leprechauns know! Get a new look at a classic story Saturday when the Missoula Children’s Theatre and more than 40 local students present an original musical adaptation of “The Princess and the Pea.” Performances will be held at noon and 2:30 p.m. in the Falls Area Performing Arts Center, located in Oconto Falls High School, 200 N. Farm Road.


College Notes

Marquette University

Laura Juszczyk of Sobieski has graduated from Marquette University, earning a Master of Education degree in educational policy and leadership.

Juszczyk was one of about 2,000 undergraduate and graduate students who received their diplomas May 20 at the Bradley Center in Milwaukee.

Rochester Institute of Technology

Kaitlyn Spaude of Little Suamico graduated from Rochester Institute of Technology with a Bachelor of Science degree in journalism. The university held its 133rd annual commencement celebration in May.

Spaude also made the RIT Dean’s List for the spring semester.

UW-River Falls

The University of Wisconsin-River Falls spring semester Dean’s List honoring 1,417 students has been released by Registrar Kelly Browning.


Oconto Falls High School Chorale earns Exemplary Performance Award

The Oconto Falls High School Chorale Ensemble is, front row from left, Alex Kamke, Camden Jackson, Hunter Ryczek, Hunter Schaden and Aidan Spillane; back row, Keith VanDornick, Connor Romandine, Colter McCormick, Ethan Winkler and Gustav Frisack. (Contributed photo)

The Wisconsin School Music Association announced in May that the Oconto Falls High School Ensemble Chorale earned the Exemplary Performance Award.
The men, representing grades 9-12, sang the three-part selection “Ballgame” by Albert Von Tilzer — a song based on the popular tune “Take Me Out To the Ballgame.” This ensemble earned a state first and a perfect score at the UW-Green Bay State Festival, and they also earned a state first on their four-part performance of “Fergus ‘N Molly” by Vijah Singh.
“I am so proud of these amazing student musicians,” said Amy Thiel, OFHS choral director. “They absolutely love to perform and share their enthusiasm for singing everywhere they go.” This is the first year that the WSMA has included ensembles to be eligible for the honor as top exceptional performances at the state Solo and Ensemble Festival.


Gillett schools summer lunch program begins

Stressing the importance of offering nutritious meals to children during the summer months, the Gillett School District announces the sponsorship of the Summer Food Service Program.
The program, which is funded by the U.S. Department of Agriculture and administered by the Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction, provides nutritious meals to children during the summer, when free and reduced-price school meals are typically unavailable. Free meals will be made available to children 18 years of age and under. People older than 18 who are determined by a state or local public educational agency to be mentally or physically disabled and who also participate in public or private non-profit school programs during the school year may receive free meals as well.


Garrett Wons is exemplary soloist

Garrett Wons, son of Bill and Suzie Wons, was recently the recipient of the Wisconsin School Music Association Exemplary Soloist Award at the UW-Green Bay State Solo and Ensemble Festival. Wons plays alto saxophone and is a junior at Oconto Falls High School.
This is the second year in a row that he has been selected as an exemplary soloist. He is a member of the Oconto Falls High School Band and is performing with Wisconsin’s Ambassadors of Music European Tour Band this summer.


Suring schools offer summer meals

The Suring Public School District, 411 E. Algoma St., Suring, invites all children age 18 and younger to a free breakfast and lunch Wednesday and Thursday as well as the weeks of June 25-28, July 9-12, July 16-19, July 23-26 and July 30 to Aug. 2.
Breakfast will be served 7:45-8:15 a.m., and lunch will be served from 12:15-12:45 p.m.
Meals are provided to all children regardless of race, color, national origin, gender or disability, and there will be no discrimination in the course of meal service.


Gillett, Suring students bike to school

Gillett kids head down the home stretch to school, with Superintendent Todd Carlson on his motorcycle and Police Chief Jess Keplinger leading the way. (Contributed photo)

Safe Kids Oconto County joined Suring Public School District and Gillett School District to celebrate Bike to School Day. Gillett’s event was initially scheduled to take place May 9, which is International Bike to School Day. But due to inclement weather, the event was delayed until May 30. The event brings together children, parents and educators to raise awareness about bike safety.

About 119 Gillett students and 85 Suring students participated in the event, along with 50 or more staff members and volunteers from each community. Both communities also received support and sponsorship from more than 20 local businesses and organizations each.

In partnership with Bell Sports, Bike to School Day is celebrated in hundreds of communities across the United States as part of National Bike Month. All events promote biking to school as a safe and fun way to travel, while highlighting important bike safety information, such as wearing a helmet.


Subscribe to RSS - Schools